The Grand Budapest Hotel Was Pretty Great, I Guess, But…

I recently blogged about how my favorite movie is Wes Anderson’s The Royal Tenenbaums. Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, you should. I like everything I’ve seen from Wes Anderson, and I recently saw his most recent film, The Grand Budapest Hotel.

the-grand-budapest-hotel-uk-quad-posterEvery element of The Grand Budapest Hotel was beautiful. The cast was perfect. The script was on point. The execution of the actors’ dialogue was flawless. It was visually enthralling, had great action, and kept me entertained from the start to the end.

But…

And I sincerely hope this doesn’t stop you from watching it, the characters didn’t change. No one grew. The characters were as likable (or unlikable) at the beginning of the film as they were at the end. In The Royal Tenenbaums, the characters all grew in some way or other. The Grand Budapest, not so much.

Do you need to see change in order to enjoy a film or a book?

2 responses to “The Grand Budapest Hotel Was Pretty Great, I Guess, But…

Leave a Reply

