Book Review | Sky Raiders by Brandon Mull

Imagine a world on the fringes of our own where imagination can create real things. Now allow me to tell you that such a world exists (possibly because you imagined it) between the covers of Brandon Mull‘s Five Kingdoms series.

sky_raidersIn Sky Raiders, the first of the series, Cole follows his kidnapped friends into the Outskirts, made up of five kingdoms and populated by mysterious powers and people. It isn’t long before Cole is marked as a slave and drafted into the dangerous service of the Sky Raiders, a cross between flying pirates and a salvaging crew. With flying castles, magical objects, and a mysterious power running rampant in the Outskirts, Mull knows how to create a captivating fantasy world.

This should come as no surprise to readers of his previous series, Fablehaven (reviewed here) and the Beyonders (which is next on my reading list). In Five Kingdoms, Brandon Mull seems to borrow some familiar fantasy elements (flying ships, pirates, and swords from Peter Pan, magical objects from the Brothers Grimm, and a ragtag group of misfits from every teen fantasy ever written), but he infuses them with new life and wonder.

Sky Raiders is a quick-paced adventure and a delightful read. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in teen fantasy in general and well-written teen fantasy in specific.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts?

One response to “Book Review | Sky Raiders by Brandon Mull

  1. Your review has made me want to get back to reading Brandon Mull’s book now. I finished Beyonders a pretty long while ago (a year or two ago), and I’ll tell you that it’s a brilliant series.
    See, I’ve been rereading some of my old favourites and honestly, quite a lot of them has been disappointing. That’s why I’ve been migrating on to simply reading fanfictions (being lazy, of course, since I don’t have to learn to like new characters that I’d probably barely tolerate at the start when I know that I already love the characters that are being written about), but the thing about Beyonders is that the characters, Jason and Rachel, are both pretty likeable from the beginning. It also happens to be one of the few series that hasn’t become a series I used to love, so I’ll say that it’s not only really well written, it’s a book you can revisit later and still love, like Harry Potter. That’s another reason for you to read it!

Leave a Reply

