5 More Alphabet Books of Note

Yesterday, I reviewed a wonderful new alphabet book by Oliver Jeffers. Today, I’m going to talk about five others that are worth reading.

9780394800301ABC: An Amazing Alphabet by Dr. Seuss

Let’s start with a classic. I grew up with Dr. Seuss books and this one stands out as being one of my favorites then and, now that I have my own small children, I can say that it has stood the test of time. Though I am not typically drawn to kids’ books with rhyming couplets, I make exception for Dr. Seuss. You have to love an artist.

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom9781442450707

This is a simple book, and therein lays the beauty. The sing-song feel and the clean graphic design are the reason that this book has become a bestseller. The only negative thing I have to say about Chicka Chicka Boom Boom is that it will get stuck in your head. But since the point is to get the alphabet stuck in the heads of children, it can also be a very good thing.

9781416991410LMNO Peas

Rich in visual imagery, this book deftly combines the alphabet with an exploration of occupations. The peas are not only fun, but they show great variety. This is one of those books where it takes a lot longer to see what is on the page than it takes to read what is on the page.

Z is for Moose9780060799847

Expect the unexpected when a lovably impatient moose comes to call in this humorous take on the traditional alphabet book. This is a fun one to read, and I can definitely relate to the moose. Not only was that my nickname for a short time, but I am notoriously impatient.

The Gashlycrumb Tinies9780151003082

Although this is definitely an illustrated alphabet book, this is not a children’s book. At least, it isn’t if you are at all concerned with your children learning twenty-six methods of death. If you love intricate crosshatching and a love of the macabre (and you are not a child), then this is the abecedary for you.

2 responses to “5 More Alphabet Books of Note

Leave a Reply

