Have you heard of “Nearable” technology?

I’d like to think that I’m just ahead of the trend on this one (though this post may be the counter-argument that I’m never really ahead of a trend). You see, I don’t have a smart phone, and in the near future, you may not either.

Picture a world where technology is so integrated into our surroundings that even wearable tech will be outdated. It is a vision that we’ve seen in films like Iron Man and Minority Report, but it probably won’t be long until it is commonplace.

We are in the midst of the wearable tech revolution, but this will be the nearable tech revolution (given that we need only be near an object in order to access its tech abilities).

If you are skeptical of the timeline here, just know that when I was in school, I remember teachers asking me if I was going to carry a calculator everywhere I went whenever I wanted to use one on a math test.

And so, I wonder whether our technological revolution will enable everyone to be smart, as seen in sci-fi films & superhero films previously mentioned, or irreversibly lazy and stupid as seen in Idiocracy.

2 responses to “Have you heard of “Nearable” technology?

Leave a Reply

