I am not a bright man.

I did it again. You think I would know better by now.

I woke up in the middle of the night, having just dreamed a rich and fascinating story. It was perfect!

notebook-light-1415798-1920x1280“I should write this down,” said the voice of experience, “before I forget it.”

“How could I possibly forget something so awesome as that dream?” questioned the voice of idiocy.

“If I turn on a light and wake up my wife, she’ll not appreciate it,” said the voice of husbanding 101. “I know that she has trouble getting back to sleep when she wakes up.”

“I’ll kick myself if I forget later,” said the voice of experience, though more softly this time.

“Impossible,” said the voice of idiocy. “You’ll remember the important details, and you can piece together the rest of the dream from that.”

“Well,” I said, “Okay then.” And I went back to sleep.

I woke up a few hours later, completely blank. I have absolutely no clue what the dream was, what the story could have been.

I am not a bright man.

*Note to self: Leave a notebook, a pen, and a flashlight on the nightstand.

4 responses to “I am not a bright man.

  1. “Smart” phones were made for those that aren’t always so “smart”. They’re portable, you can talk into them, record, write notes, make reminders and ironically it’s too a flashlight.

Leave a Reply

