I am an O90-C8-E59-A74-N3.

josh_personality

So I took this personality test for kicks and giggles. And after five to ten minutes of answering questions, I got to see where I rated on five basic areas: Openness to Experience/Intellect; Conscientiousness; Extraversion; Agreeableness, and Neuroticism.

Everything lined up pretty much how I figured it would, except for in one area. Here’s how my score broke down.

Openness to Experience/Intellect
High scorers tend to be original, creative, curious, complex; Low scorers tend to be conventional, down to earth, narrow interests, uncreative.
You enjoy having novel experiences and seeing things in new ways.     My score: 90
Conscientiousness
High scorers tend to be reliable, well-organized, self-disciplined, careful; Low scorers tend to be disorganized, undependable, negligent.
You probably have a messy desk!     My score: 8
Extraversion
High scorers tend to be sociable, friendly, fun loving, talkative; Low scorers tend to be introverted, reserved, inhibited, quiet.
You are neither particularly social or reserved.     My score: 59
Agreeableness
High scorers tend to be good natured, sympathetic, forgiving, courteous; Low scorers tend to be critical, rude, harsh, callous.
You tend to consider the feelings of others.     My score: 74
Neuroticism
High scorers tend to be nervous, high-strung, insecure, worrying; Low scorers tend to be calm, relaxed, secure, hardy.
You probably remain calm, even in tense situations.     My score: 3

Like I said, everything lined up with my expectations except for one area.

For all the times that I’ve taken tests like these, I am always quite extroverted. This is the first time where I’ve been close to the middle of the road.

In high school, I relished in any situation where the attention was on me. I was in plays and musicals as lead characters (or scene-stealing support characters). I arrived at college with people already wearing “I love Josh Mosey” t-shirts (full story here). I took my campus ministry by storm and left an impression (I can’t always say a good one) on everyone I met. I was extroverted to the point of being obnoxious.

I am no longer that guy. Buy why?

I think I owe part of becoming more tame to my wife, though I would not say that she changed me. I married a woman who is all the way on the other end of the extraversion spectrum. And early in our dating life, I learned quickly that if I did something potentially embarrassing, she would be embarrassed for me (even if I wasn’t). I think I have a better handle on what things will embarrass her and what things won’t now, and if I don’t have a good reason to do something embarrassing (I still consider getting a good laugh a good reason, by the way) I won’t do it.

I think another part of my shift toward the shy side is my writing. In writing, I am forced to spend more time alone, observing humanity so as to write believable characters and a good first step toward being able to do that is by stepping out of the limelight. I can see things more clearly when I don’t have a spotlight in my eyes.

And the last part is that life has a way of moderating us over time. Some people call this “maturing.” In my life thus far, I’ve had to deal with things that I never thought possible. My folks got divorced. My wife and I lost a child. And on and on. The rough edges are being worn down and teaching me that I shouldn’t be the focus of every situation.

It was an insightful personality test. If you want to take it, go here: http://www.outofservice.com/bigfive/

2 responses to “I am an O90-C8-E59-A74-N3.

  1. There is a map of each of the 48 contiguous states categorizing based upon the results of this test. See Facebook post from Susan Wallin Mosey and embedded link. Thought you might want to know if you’re living in the “right” place for your test results.

  2. Pingback: I am an extrovert among introverts. | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

