Book Club Update

I am having trouble sticking to my 100 page per week goal in order to finish reading A Game of Thrones by mid-August. I can’t put the book down. I’m like 600 pages in and I know that I’m going to finish it soon.

Part of me says that I should slow down and savor the reading experience. I should be making notes about my thoughts as I read. I should be looking for writing devices and topics to discuss when the book club meets.

And then the other part of me says, “Read, you fool!”

I’ll give you one guess as to which part I am listening to.

Maybe I’ll have time to read it a second time before we meet and I’ll make good on my intentions.

So for those of you who wanted to join the book club but were scared off by the amount of reading there is to be done, rest easy. It is a fast read, and addictive.

Also, I’m pretty sure that we’ve decided on a location for the book club to meet.

Date and time have yet to be determined. It’ll depend on what the new baby will allow (she’s due in less than 3 weeks now).

3 responses to “Book Club Update

  1. The primary reason I have joined is because we plan to meet at Graydon’s. Any other place would not be appropriate. Read some more last night and it was better than I thought. Once I can elbow out a solid hour or so in my schedule to read, I might get that additiveness you write about.

Leave a Reply

