100 Word Challenge | The notes from the piano…

When eccentric recluse Otto Silversmith died, rumors ran rampant about the riches he had squirreled away. But as the workers cleared his estate, it wasn’t the money they found. It was the notes.

From the piano, a note to his nephew: “Avoid loose women.”

From beneath the kitchen sink, a note to his doctor: “Warm hands under water before exams.”

After ten, the workers laughed. After fifty, they smiled. After hundreds, they groaned. Notes in books, behind pictures, stuffed into shoes.

Thousands of notes went into the dumpster, but for the one that remained hidden.

“Word two from note in clown portrait. Word ten from…”

Joseph_Grimaldi

8 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge | The notes from the piano…

  1. Well done. Can someone teach themselves not to think too literally? To me, notes from the piano meant musical notes. And then to break it up the way you did, very imaginative. I loved it!

  2. This is my favourite that I’ve read so far (I’ve read 12) from this week’s prompt. I really enjoyed the idea of someone leaving notes to people that never received them. And the simple wisdom in the notes.

    I got confused about this line though “Word two from note in clown portrait. Word ten from…”

    I have no idea what that is saying, so for me I’d end it the sentence before.

Leave a comment