Jokes at My Expense

I love my old roommate, Adam. I do. But when I went to visit him a few years ago, he made fun of my disability. Maybe he didn’t even mean to do it, but he did.

He wore this shirt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You see, I am colorblind. I had no idea that there was a message in the circles. I just see a bunch of circles within a larger circle. Adam ended up telling me that it had a message on it, but he refused to tell me what it said.

I hadn’t thought of that shirt in a long time. That is, until I saw this.

I can see the message in this shirt. It says “Secretly Loathe” inside of the heart. Funny stuff.

And since I could read this shirt, it made me think of the other one, the one that Adam wore. I thought, why did I never try adjusting the colors on that shirt to find the message? Good thinking, Self! Only a few years late.

So I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow I can see that it says “I ♥ Color”. Finally.

One response to “Jokes at My Expense

  1. Pingback: What does it mean to be colorblind? | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

