Icebreaker #15 | What was your favorite subject in school?

This is the fifteenth and final installment of my Icebreaker series. Find your backpack and cram your Trapper Keeper inside!

What was your favorite subject in school?

Here I am with hair and trombones. I still have those trombones. The hair, not so much.

Here I am with hair and trombones. I still have those trombones. The hair, not so much.

You may already know that I was king of the band geeks in high school. It would stand to reason that music classes would have been my favorite. And I think if I were to answer this question in high school, I would have agreed.

Looking back now though, I think my favorite subject in high school was English, specifically AP Literature and AP Composition. And it turns out, those are the subjects that have impacted me most.

I mean, I worked for a bookstore for ten years because I love books. I write daily on this blog of mine. I have aspirations of being published in a variety of forms. And I work for a publisher, albeit in the marketing department.

You know the last time I played my trombone? Me neither. Now, I don’t regret taking any of the music classes that I took, and at one time I considered becoming a band teacher (but let’s be honest—I’m glad that I don’t have to listen to junior high or high school students learn how to play the clarinet).

My favorite subject is still related to reading and writing.

How about you? What is yours?

11 responses to “Icebreaker #15 | What was your favorite subject in school?

  1. My favorite subject in high school was English. Rhetoric and Composition was one of my favorite courses. Somehow or another, I ended up double majoring in international relations and psychology in college. And I’m now writing a blog that is more or less a sandbox for all kinds of writing, although most of it’s poetry. I have to write poetry at least once a week. It’s rather cathartic.

    • Keep writing! My university degree is in Recreation, but I wish I had taken more writing classes. Ah well, our education is never really over anyway. Thanks for the comment!

  2. My faves in high school were (predictably) English and any other type of lit class. But once I got to college, some of my favorite courses were in the journalism department. I liked News Writing and Reporting, Feature Writing, Mass Media in Society (we talked about Disney movies a lot in this class) and Mass Media Law (this one was a lot about creative property rights and right-to-privacy issues).

  3. My favorite was what would be called today AP Chemistry. Yes, I still use some of that knowledge, but it is more application than experimentation. So sad about your trombone though. Want to give/sell cheap to Uncle Mark? No sense lugging it about if you won’t pick it up to play. [PS – 2nd favorite subject – one semester of Choral Union – just because it was the only time I got to “hang out” in school with your Uncle Mark. LOL adolescent minds.]

  4. My favorite subject was music…. I hated school- could not wait to get out! Not I have been a teacher for almost 30 years and trying not to make it like my school days were to me! I think my students like my class, so I guess I was successful? I loved READING but I hated Eng Lit class. Why couldn’t we read for enjoying reading and what WE GOT out of the book instead of what we “thought” the author’s intent was for us to feel? (I could go one whining forever! )

  5. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

